Wareham-New Bedford Elks honor high-achieving students

By Matthew Bernat | May 03, 2017
Photo by: Matthew Bernat Warham High School student of the month winners stand with State Rep. Susan Williams Gifford and Elks Exalted Ruler Charles Anson. The students, from left, are: Gina Peterson, Laura Biscoe, Cienne Fernandes, Maura Johnson, Andrew Thompson, Brendan Ireland, Brett McSherry and Natalie Moulding. Not pictured: Jannell Andrews.

As an AP student, DECA member and track star, Wareham High School senior Brett McSherry has a string of accomplishments on her resume. On Wednesday, she added one more – Wareham High School student of the year.

McSherry and 46 other students from area high schools were honored at a banquet hosted by the Wareham-New Bedford Lodge of Elks #73. The banquet, which is a longstanding tradition for the Elks, recognizes all those who earned student of the month awards for the 2016-2017 school year from high schools in Bourne, Mattapoisett and Rochester in addition to Wareham.

The Elks give those students a $25 gift card. For each student named student of the year from their respective high schools, the Elks award a $250 check.

While school officials choose the students based on a combination of a student’s academic performance and extracurricular activities, the Elks are happy to recognize them with the award ceremony, said Exalted Ruler Charles Anson.

Before the presentation, State Representative Susan Williams Gifford (R-Wareham), who is herself an Elk, offered a welcome and words of encouragement.

“It’s important for all of you to keep working hard and take advantage of every opportunity possible,” said Gifford.

In addition to McSherry, who was also named student of the month for April, students of the month were: Natalia Moulding, Cienne Fernandes, Laura Biscoe, Brendan Ireland, Andrew Thompson, Gina Peterson, Jannell Andrews and Maura Johnson.

Wareham High School senior Brett McSherry walks to accept her award for being student of the year. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.