Wareham High School welcomes 33 new Honor Society members

By Andrea Ray | Mar 16, 2017
Photo by: Andrea Ray Honor Society inductee Sheridyn Pinkham proudly holds her certificate alongside current Honor Society member Emily Nash.

Wareham Public Schools Superintendent Kimberly Shaver-Hood, quoting former President Calvin Coolidge, addressed the school's newest group of National Honor Society inductees.

“No person was ever honored for what he received. Honor has been the reward for what he gave,” she said. “Tonight is an honor for what you have given. Congratulations and thank you for being a Viking.”

Thirty-three students were inducted into Wareham's Ruth B. Tompkins chapter of the National Honor Society Thursday night at Wareham High School. Nineteen students were inducted into the Honor Society and the remaining 14 were inducted into the Junior Honor Society, the middle school section of the National Honor Society.

The inducted students have worked hard over their years of schooling. Induction into the Honor Society requires an ‘A’ grade average and possession of four distinct qualities: scholarship, character, leadership and service.

The inducted students are expected to complete 40 hours of community service per year, and many are already involved in their community. Amongst the inductees are volunteers at the Wareham Free Library, local animal shelters and several area churches.

“It’s always tough to schedule this evening,” joked Wareham High School Principal Scott Palladino. “These kids are so involved in their communities that they rarely have a night off.” He and Shaver-Hood congratulated the students and thanked them for their hard work.

Inducted into the National Honor Society: Makayla Bumpus, Renneanna Dillen, Nicolas Dix, Kevin England, McKenna Fitzgerald, Joshua Gallagher, Abigail Glidden, Emily Kauranen, Cameron Keith, Ryan McSherry, Alana Nicoletti, Ethan Osley, Alisha Papadakis, Mini Patal, Sheridyn Pinkham, Alyssa Perez, Jillian Rawding, Jamie Read, and Paige Strawn.

Inducted into the Junior Honor Society: Jasmine Black, Jordan Bumpus, Stephen Caldarola, Grace Cerrato, Joshua Flaherty, Kylah Fulton, Brian Gallagher, Jocelyne Hendrix, Mollie Johnson, Jorie Kyle, Rory Lydon, Julienne Matthews, Natalia Moulding and Isabella Valatkevicz.

Wareham's newest National Honor Society members. (Photo by: Andrea Ray)
From left:  Ethan Osley, Joshua Gallagher, Tyler Litchfield, Nicholas Dix celebrate after the ceremony. (Photo by: Deborah Alfonso)
Comments (1)
Posted by: Society for Suppression of Noise | Mar 17, 2017 09:13

Well, I'm impressed.

If you wish to comment, please login.