Wareham High School seniors honored for academics, character

By Matthew Bernat | Jun 08, 2017
Photo by: Matthew Bernat Teena Miranda hugs Sonia Strawn after handing her a scholarship in memory of her son Trey, who passed away last year from brain cancer.

On the night before Wareham High School’s graduation, town groups and organizations handed out more than $200,000 worth of scholarships to seniors.

The event, the Senior Academic Awards Ceremony, honored the academic achievement, leadership, character and perseverance of many students. In addition to scholarships, students received awards from different administrators.

Several students were awarded multiple scholarships, including ones that have been around for many years and three new additions.

This year, the Trey Miranda Scholarship Award, the WCTV Scholarship Award and Viking Scholarship Award became part of the ceremony.

Teena Miranda, the mother of Trey Miranda, an Onset teenager who passed away last year from brain cancer, presented the new scholarship to seven seniors.

Last year, Miranda launched a backpack drive to collect supplies for young students in the school district. She also raised funds to help graduating seniors pay for college.

“The funds raised will help keep Trey’s memory alive,” she said.

Vice Principal Debbie James Freitas awarded James Thomas with the Viking Scholarship Award.

Freitas said Thomas faced many hardships before he ended up at Wareham as a senior this year. Freitas said he earned the award for his positive nature and perseverance. Freitas noted he also won the school’s Sportsmen of the Year Award for two consecutive years, which hadn’t been done in more than 20 years.

Christian Fernandes awarded Daniel Smith with a scholarship on behalf of the community television station. Fernandes spoke about Smith’s professionalism and commitment to the station.

Administrators also handed awards to individual students. The ten students with the highest grades were honored at the end of the night, including Valedictorian Brett McSherry and Salutatorian Sara Tyma.

A list of those winners is below:

Dean of Students Award

Austin Allen

Assistant Principal’s Award

Sara Tyma

Principal’s Award

Terrell Mathews

Superintendent’s Award

Abigail Glidden

Gold Scholar Awards (given to the top ten academic students)

Brett McSherry

Sara Tyma

Jack Goodwin-Gilson

Elizabeth Griffith

Adrianna Adams

Lisa Wynne

Madison Koslowsky

Amilya Putzig

Elise Abbott

Miguel Acosta


Class of 2017 Valedictorian Brett McSherry, left, and Salutatorian Sara Tyma, center, stand on stage with other Gold Scholar Award winners on Thursday. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
The 10 students with the highest GPAs stand on stage at the end of the Senior Academic Awards Ceremony. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
Abigail Glidden accepts the Superintendent's Award from Dr. Kimberly Shaver-Hood. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
Scott Palladino hands the Principal's Award to Terrell Mathews. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
Sara Tyma hugs Assistant Principal Debbie Freitas after receiving an award. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
Austin Allen shakes hands with Christine Cinelli as he accepts the Dean of Students Award. (Photo by: Matthew Bernat)
Comments (1)
Posted by: Andrew Griffith | Jun 08, 2017 22:38

Congratulations to all of the students who received awards tonight!  Your hard work did not go unnoticed.  Continue on this path in life and you will be successful!

If you wish to comment, please login.