Long-time district teachers, staff honored

By Andrea Ray | May 10, 2017

Wareham teachers and faculty who have served over 20 years in the district were honored Wednesday night; it turns out that the list is a long one.

The principals of Wareham High School, Wareham Middle School, Minot Forest Elementary and Decas Elementary all took time to read the names and positions of the various professionals.

Wareham Middle School Principal Dr. Peter Steedman singled out his secretary, Elaine Johnson, for her 20 years of service. "She proofreads everything I send out and corrects many of my mistakes," he said. "She’s also been able to anticipate where I might go astray, which is often, and is able to correct me!"

The full list of recognitions is below:

Wareham High School

Rene Nascimento (Head Custodian); Christine Cinelli (Dean of Students); Cindy Sylvia (Chair, Technology Education); Lorraine Gregoire (Special Education paraprofessional)

Wareham Middle School

Ed Batterton (custodian); Elaine Johnson (secretary); Valerie Johnson (Social Studies teacher); Beth Geary (Inclusion specialist);  Sharon Burbidge (Learning & Adjustment Center).

Minot Forest Elementary

Jennifer Conlon (Grade 3 teacher); Leslie Reid (preschool teacher); Joan White (Special Education); Anne Marie Fillion (Lead Special Education teacher); Tina Coughlin (preschool paraprofessional); Christine Raimonde (Title I Professional); Robyn Hennigan (Grade 3 teacher); Joanne Spiro (secretary).

Decas Elementary

Helen Bakeman (Title I); Maria Jacinto (Grade 1 specialist); Patty Nelson (vision specialist); Patty Bazinet (STEAM program); Sally Cattabriga (special education); Jackie Coville (special education)l Ellen Osbourne (art instructor); Barbara LeBlanc (special education).

Other recognitions

Michael MacMillan, Wareham School District Finance Manager, thanked both Pamela Callaghan and Theresa Vicente-Griffin for their twenty years of service to the district as part of the Technology team.

Laura Atwood, a Wareham Public Schools bus driver for 30 years, was also thanked for her tremendous efforts for the school.

Wareham School Committee Chair Judy Capporiccio took time to thank former committee member Melvin Lazarus for all of his hard work. "There are those who have a job and go to work, and those who are passionate about what they do," she said as she handed him a plaque. "Mel put his heart and soul into it."



Comments (1)
Posted by: WantToSeeChange | May 11, 2017 12:33

Congratulations to all of these teachers and staff members!  20+ years is a great achievement!

If you wish to comment, please login.