Game 32 Preview: Gatemen return to Brewster for final time, look to avenge loss

By Wareham Gatemen | Jul 18, 2018
Photo by: Caroline O'Connor Ryan Garcia, recently named to the all-star team, makes the start for Wareham today.

BREWSTER – The Wareham Gatemen (18-12-1) finish up their day of baseball by heading over to Brewster to take on the Whitecaps (8-21-3) at 5 p.m. at Stony Brook Field.

To begin the day, Wareham completed their game with the Hyannis Harbor Hawks that was originally played on July 8.

The conclusion of the game in Hyannis came after manager Don Sneddon won a protest to erase what was supposed to be a 9-5 Hyannis win.

The protest occurred in the top of the seventh inning when Wareham was trailing 6-5 with one out in the inning. DH Pavin Parks entered the game to pitch in the fifth inning, exited the mound, and then went to return back into his DH spot in the lineup.

Home plate umpire Tony Letizio did not allow Parks to re-enter the game and Sneddon immediately filed to protest the game. To read more about the protest, click here or click here to read about the final few innings today.

Despite the winning the protest, the Gatemen still lost the game today 6-5. Wareham’s best chance to score came in the eighth when they had runners on first and second with no outs, but then the next three Gatemen hitters struck out to end the threat.

The Gatemen must now have short term memory as they take on the Whitecaps this afternoon. Last time out, Brewster dominated Wareham in an 8-1 win. Chris Murphy (1-2, 5.87 ERA), the starter for Brewster today, also started last time against Wareham. In that outing, Murphy went five scoreless innings, but needed 110 pitches to do so.

All-star Ryan Garcia (1-0, 2.25 ERA) gets the start for Wareham today and makes his first appearance against Brewster. In his four starts this year, Garcia has yet to allow two or more runs. In his last outing, Garcia went four innings allowing just one run on two hits while striking out four.

Here are today’s lineups:


  1. Isaac Collins, RF – Creighton
  2. Sahid Valenzuela, 2B – Cal State Fullerton
  3. Austin Shenton, 1B - FIU
  4. Jeremy Ydens, LF - UCLA
  5. Lael Lockhart Jr, DH – Houston
  6. Pavin Parks, 3B – Kent State
  7. Ryan Kreidler, SS - UCLA
  8. Drew Millas, C – Missouri State
  9. Skyler Hunter, CF - Purdue

SP.Ryan Garcia, RHP - UCLA


  1. Dominic Canzone, LF – Ohio State
  2. Cameron Eden, 3B – Cal Berkeley
  3. Jesse Franklin, 1B – Michigan
  4. Brandon Martorano, DH – UNC
  5. Conor Grammes, 2B – Xavier
  6. Hunter Bishop, CF – ASU
  7. Joe Donovan, C – Michigan
  8. Ray Alejo, RF – UCF
  9. Ike Freeman, SS - UNC

SP.Chris Murphy, LHP – San Diego

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.